North American Cats

There are three recognized North American cats, although some of them range further into Central or South America. The Cougar or Mountain Lion or Puma ranges from the Yukon down the western part of the continent to the southern tip of South America. The Bobcat is also found in Mexico. In southern Texas, USA there exists a small population of Ocelots, but the majority of their range is in Central and South America.

Click on the names under the photos to read our fact sheets on the cats.

Wild Cats of North America

BobcatCanada LynxCougar

See Also:

Ocelot Fact Sheet

Endangered Ocelots in Texas

Safety in Cougar Country

Canadian Cats


Leave A Reply